Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Table of Contents
Spectator Sports in the 1920s
On this page:
The Roaring Twenties Almanac and Primary Sources by
Call Number: 973.91 HOW
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a collection of entries that provide information on the 1920s in the U.S., including the political, economic, technological, and social events during the decade, and provides full and excerpted documents that offer a range of perspectives the period. Includes sidebar boxes and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of American History: Volume VII, The Emergence of Modern America, 1900-1928 by
Call Number: R 973 ENC
Publication Date: 2010
Contains alphabetized, cross-referenced entries on American history that discuss events, movements, people, trends, political developments, and related topics from the early twentieth century; and includes primary documents, a chronology, bibliography, and index.
Daily Life in the United States, 1920-1939: Decades of Promise and Pain by
Call Number: 973.91 KYV
Publication Date: 2002
Examines what daily life was like for ordinary people in the U. S. in the 1920s and the 1930s, discussing the impact of automobiles, electricity, radio, cinema, conflict and crime, the standardization of culture, the Great Depression, and the New Deal on the lives of American citizens.
American Decades Primary Sources: 1920-1929 by
Call Number: R 973.91 AME
Publication Date: 2004
Contains approximately 160 primary sources on American history and culture from 1920 to 1929, featuring many different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
1920s Boxing Champs
Gene Tunney and Jack Dempsey will meet in Chicago for the world's heavyweight championship.
Boxing - World Heavyweight Title - Tunney V Demspey. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 24 Dec 2011.
Man O' War Makes History in Horse Racing
The start of the 1923 Derby.
Horse Racing - The Derby - Espom Downs - 1923. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 24 Dec 2011.
1920s Tennis Champions
1924: American tennis player Helen Wills Moody taking a shot.
Helen Wills Moody. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 24 Dec 2011
American tennis player Bill Tilden collects the National Singles Cup for the sixth time from US Lawn Tennis Association president Jones Mersereau at Forest Hills, New York.
Tilden's Trophy. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 24 Dec 2011.
College Football in the 1920s
Harold "Red" Grange (Galloping Ghost) (Illinois) American football player.
HAROLD (RED) GRANGE - (1903-1991). American Football Player.. Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 24 Dec 2011