Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Joe Jackson (Shoeless Joe)
'Shoeless Joe' Jackson (1889-1991). - Joseph Jefferson Jackson. American baseball player. c1920.
SHOELESS' JOE JACKSON (1889-1991). - Joseph Jefferson Jackson. American Baseball Player. Photographed C1920.. Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 21 Dec 2011.
Babe Ruth at Bat
American baseball player 'Babe' Ruth (George Herman Ruth, 1895 - 1948) looks up while batting for the New York Yankees during a game, April 9, 1925. (Photo by Hulton Archive/Getty Images)
Babe Ruth Batting For NY Yankees . Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 5 Dec 2011
Negro Baseball Leagues
The St. Louis Stars. Circa 1927-1930.. Mule Suttles is fourth from the left in the rear; 'Cool Papa' Bell is seated at his feet in the front.
BASEBALL: NEGRO LEAGUES./nThe St. Louis Stars. Photographed Between 1927 And 1930. Mule Suttles Is Fourth From The Left In The Rear; 'Cool Papa' Bell Is Seated At His Feet In The Front.. Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 21 Dec 2011.
American baseball player Lou Gehrig (1903 - 1941), swinging his baseball bat at a game. Circa 1935.
Gehrig Swings. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 21 Dec 2011.
Home Run Kings by
Call Number: 920 USC
Publication Date: 2000
Discusses the careers of several baseball stars known for their home run hitting, including Babe Ruth, Roger Maris, Hank Aaron, Mark McGuire, and Sammy Sosa.
The New York Yankees by
Call Number: 796.357 GRA
Publication Date: 2002
Discusses the history of the New York Yankees professional baseball team, and looks at the lives and careers of players Joe DeMaggio, Lou Gehrig, Mickey Mantle, Reggie Jackson, Derek Jeter, and Babe Ruth, and manager Casey Stengel.
Extraordinary African-Americans by
Call Number: 920 ALT
Publication Date: 2001
Profiles more than one hundred remarkable African-Americans, including activists, educators, writers, musicians, and various other types of history makers, as well as important periods and landmarks in African-American history, such as the Harlem Renaissance and the Emancipation Proclamation.
Baseball: 100 Classic Moments in the History of the Game by
Call Number: 796.357 WAL
Publication Date: 2000
Highlights one hundred significant moments in baseball history through a collection of over four hundred photographs from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, accompanied by explanatory text.
The History of Us: War, Peace, and All that Jazz by
Call Number: 973 HAK
Publication Date: 2003
Explores the development of the United States from 1917 to 1945, covering including the Roaring Twenties, the Great Depression, and World War II.
American Decades Primary Sources: 1920-1929 by
Call Number: R 973.91 AME
Publication Date: 2004
Contains approximately 160 primary sources on American history and culture from 1920 to 1929, featuring many different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
Encyclopedia of American History: Volume VII, The Emergence of Modern America, 1900-1928 by
Call Number: R 973 ENC
Publication Date: 2010
Contains alphabetized, cross-referenced entries on American history that discuss events, movements, people, trends, political developments, and related topics from the early twentieth century; and includes primary documents, a chronology, bibliography, and index.
The Roaring Twenties Almanac and Primary Sources by
Call Number: 973.91 HOW
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a collection of entries that provide information on the 1920s in the U.S., including the political, economic, technological, and social events during the decade, and provides full and excerpted documents that offer a range of perspectives the period. Includes sidebar boxes and illustrations.
The 100 Greatest Heroes by
Call Number: 920 JEF
Publication Date: 2003
Contains profiles, ranked in order of significance, of the world's most influential heroes of all time.
The pride of the Yankees [videorecording]
Call Number: DVD F PRI
Publication Date: 2002, c1942
Dramatizes the story of Lou Gehrig, the Yankee's great first baseman and son of poor immigrants, who rose to the heights of baseball fame only to fall at the peak of his career to an incurable illness known as ALS.