Broadway - Musicals - Roaring Twenties - Concordia Library at Concordia International School Shanghai

Did You Know . . .

1927 - Broadway performer Al Jolson stars in The Jazz Singer, the first motion picture to incorporate sound.

1929 - Louis Armstrong appears on Broadway in the hit show Hot Chocolates singing his famous song "Ain't Misbehavin'."

1917-1932 - Fred Astaire, danced with his sister Adele during his Broadway days.

Web Resources

Dancer Extraordinaire Fred Astaire

"American actor, singer, and dancer Fred Astaire leans against a wall with a pipe in his mouth, pointing as American actors (L-R): Betty Compton, Adele Astaire, and Gertrude McDonald listen in a scene from the Broadway musical 'Funny Face' at the Alvin Theatre, NYC. Music and lyrics by George and Ira Gershwin." 1927.

Astaire On Stage. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 22 Dec 2011.

Ziegfeld

"George GERSHWIN - ZIEGFELD SHOW GIRL Cover of score. Written by W A McGuire; from the novel by J P McEvoy; Music by G Gershwin; Lyrics by Ira Gershwin and Gus Kahn. Dances by Robert Connolly; Ballet by Albertina Rasch Produced in America"

George GERSHWIN - ZIEGFELD.. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 22 Dec 2011.

Gold Diggers

Gold Diggers of Broadway - Year: 1929
GOLD DIGGERS OF BROADWAY (1929). Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 22 Dec 2011.

Books

Josephine Baker in Art and Life: The Icon and the Image by Bennetta Jules-Rosette
Call Number: B BAK

ISBN: 0252074122

Publication Date: 2007

Explores the life of Josephine Baker and the images she projected, discussing her film and dance careers, humanitarianism, political activity, influence on art and fashion, and other aspects of her life.
American Decades Primary Sources: 1920-1929 by Cynthia Rose
Call Number: R 973.91 AME

ISBN: 0787665908

Publication Date: 2004

Contains approximately 160 primary sources on American history and culture from 1920 to 1929, featuring many different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
Encyclopedia of American History: Volume VII, The Emergence of Modern America, 1900-1928 by Elizabeth Faue
Call Number: R 973 ENC

ISBN: 0816071438

Publication Date: 2010

Contains alphabetized, cross-referenced entries on American history that discuss events, movements, people, trends, political developments, and related topics from the early twentieth century; and includes primary documents, a chronology, bibliography, and index.
Lifetimes: The Great War to the Stock Market Crash: American History Through Biography and Primary Documents by Neil A. Hamilton
Call Number: R 973.91 LIF

ISBN: 0313317992

Publication Date: 2002

Examines the history of the United States from the Great War to the stock market crash of 1929 through biographical accounts of sixty Americans who had an influence on events of the period, each with portraits, photographs, and related primary documents.
The Roaring Twenties Almanac and Primary Sources by Kelly King Howes
Call Number: 973.91 HOW

ISBN: 1414402120

Publication Date: 2006

Presents a collection of entries that provide information on the 1920s in the U.S., including the political, economic, technological, and social events during the decade, and provides full and excerpted documents that offer a range of perspectives the period. Includes sidebar boxes and illustrations.