Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Table of Contents
The Roaring Twenties was a time of many fads, many "firsts." There was also a need to establish endurance records. These are just a few.
'Fearless Freddie', a Hollywood stunt man, was one of the many who crossed the country "barnstorming." Here he was about to jump from an airplane into an automobile, 1921.
AIRPLANE STUNT MAN, 1921. - 'Fearless Freddie', A Hollywood Stunt Man About To Jump From An Airplane Into An Automobile, 1921.. Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 19 Dec 2011.
Joe Powers (called "Holdem" Powers), a flagpole sitter, standing on top of a flagpole in Chicago, Illinois, 1928.
Joe Powers Performing A Stunt. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 19 Dec 2011.
Search by flagpole or flag pole or flag-pole sitting or pole-sitting or standing
1924 started with the publication of The Crossword Puzzle Book. Here a model, on the beach in Palm Beach, Florida, 'creates' a crossword puzzle design on her beach parasol. c. 1925.
Crossword Parasol. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 19 Dec 2011.
A Mahjong class in progress at Selfridge's department store in London, 1925. Mahjong became popular in the United States in 1924 and then made its way across the Atlantic in 1925 to continue the craze there.
Mahjong Craze In London. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 19 Dec 2011.
Exhaustion . . . After 3,327 hours particpating in a dance marathon in Chicago, 1930.
The 3,327th Hour Of A Dance Marathon Held In Chicago, 1930 . Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 9 Dec 2011.
Miss America Pageant
Wearing a large Statue of Liberty crown and a striped cape, Margaret Gorman from Washington D.C. became the first "Miss America," a beauty pageant held in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in 1921. The Miss America Pageant was initially devised as a means to extend the summer tourist season in the beach-front town.
First Miss America. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 19 Dec 2011.
No Fixed Points: Dance in the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: R 792.8 REY
Publication Date: 2003
Surveys the history of dance in the twentieth century, profiling key developments in ballet, modern dance, and avant-garde dance for stage and screen in Europe and North America, plus show dancing, tap, and jazz.
The Roaring Twenties by
Call Number: 973.91 ROA
Publication Date: 2002
Presents twenty-one firsthand accounts of several aspects of the 1920s in America, discussing the economic boom, economic inequality, the Red Scare, racial tensions, Prohibition, flappers and jazz, fads, and the stock market crash. Also includes a chronology, a selected bibliography, and a comprehensive introduction.
The Roaring Twenties Almanac and Primary Sources by
Call Number: 973.91 HOW
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a collection of entries that provide information on the 1920s in the U.S., including the political, economic, technological, and social events during the decade, and provides full and excerpted documents that offer a range of perspectives the period. Includes sidebar boxes and illustrations.
American Decades Primary Sources: 1920-1929 by
Call Number: R 973.91 AME
Publication Date: 2004
Contains approximately 160 primary sources on American history and culture from 1920 to 1929, featuring many different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
The Wicked Waltz and Other Scandalous Dances by
Call Number: 793.3 KNO
Publication Date: 2009-03-25
The waltz, perhaps the most beloved social dance of the 19th and early 20th centuries, once provoked outrage from religious leaders and other self-appointed arbiters of social morality. Decrying the corrupting influence of social dancing, they failed to suppress the popularity of the waltz or other dance crazes of the period, including the Charleston, the tango, and "animal dances" such as the Turkey Trot, Grizzly Bear, and Bunny Hug.
This book investigates the development of these popular dances, considering in particular how their very existence as "taboo" cultural fads ultimately provided a catalyst for lasting social reform. In addition to examining the impact of the waltz and other scandalous dances on fashion, music, leisure, and social reform, the text describes the opposition to dance and the proliferation of literature on both sides.
ABC-CLIO (All History Databases)
This allows you to search all ABC-CLIO databases.
America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000)
Provides news articles covering topics including government, politics, social issues, culture, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources that enable students and teachers to explore virtually every topic or aspect of American history and culture between 1690 and 2000.
Britannica Image Quest
"...more than two million images....All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use...."
Britannica School - Levels
Three learning levels to choose from - elementary, middle, and high. Find excellent background information about any topic.
Explora Secondary School
Explora provides a safe, trustworthy environment for middle and high students to look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects or homework.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest databases provide a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.
Salem History brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning history reference works, including Milestone Documents of American Leaders, Milestone Documents in American History, and Milestone Documents in World History. Physical copies of the books are available in the reference section.