Provides news articles covering topics including government, politics, social issues, culture, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources that enable students and teachers to explore virtually every topic or aspect of American history and culture between 1690 and 2000.
New York Times Archives provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Good for primary source images and news articles.
Depression-Era Family on the Road Seeking Work, Food, Shelter
Farm worker and family on the road, seeking employment and a place to live, 1938 - photograph by Dorothea Lange
Farm Worker And Family On The Road, Seeking Employment And A Place To Live, 1938 . Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 2 Jan 2012.
Profiles the life and career of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, his childhood, personal struggles with polio, and how he led the country through the war years; and includes twenty-one related activities for kids.
Describes the plight of the migrant workers who traveled from the Dust Bowl to California during the Depression and were forced to live in a federal labor camp and discusses the school that was built for their children.
Examines what daily life was like for ordinary people in the U. S. in the 1920s and the 1930s, discussing the impact of automobiles, electricity, radio, cinema, conflict and crime, the standardization of culture, the Great Depression, and the New Deal on the lives of American citizens.
A collection of documents that provide insight into the realities of American life during the Great Depression, including song lyrics, magazine articles, murals and posters, excerpts from literary works, political cartoons, news stories, photographs, interviews, and letters
Profiles one hundred notable women from throughout history, including politicians, royalty, authors, and entertainers, describing their lives and achievements; those profiled include Sappho, Joan of Arc, Eleanor Roosevelt, Virginia Woolf, and Aung San Suu Kyi.
Contains photographs and essays that highlight the careers of twelve American photographers whose work has influenced the course of history, including Matthew Brady, William Henry Jackson, Edward S. Curtis, and Dorothea Lange.
Photographs and text detail a history of women's accomplishments and contributions in geography, and features information on Marguerite Harrison, Blair Niles, Gertrude Mathews Shelby, Amelia Earhart, Ann Cottrell Free, Sally H. Clark, Jane Goodall, and others.
Presents a series of newspaper articles on the dust bowl migration the swept through rural California, written by John Steinbeck for "The San Francisco News" in 1936, three years before he published "The Grapes of Wrath.
"Based on the special fiftieth-anniversary edition of the novel, which reproduced the original text published in 1939 by the Viking Press"--p. li.;Includes bibliographical references (p. xlv-l). The saga of a family in 1939 that struggles through the Great Depression by laboring as Dust Bowl migrants.
As he did for frontier children in his enormously popular Children of the Wild West, Russell Freedman illuminates the lives of the American children affected by the economic and social changes of the Great Depression. Middle-class urban youth, migrant farm laborers, boxcar kids, children whose families found themselves struggling for survival . . . all Depression-era young people faced challenges like unemployed and demoralized parents, inadequate food and shelter, schools they couldn’t attend because they had to go to work, schools that simply closed their doors. Even so, life had its bright spotslike favorite games and radio showsand many young people remained upbeat and optimistic about the future.
Drawing on memoirs, diaries, letters, and other firsthand accounts, and richly illustrated with classic archival photographs, this book by one of the most celebrated authors of nonfiction for children places the Great Depression in context and shows young readers its human face. Endnotes, selected bibliography, index.
History holds many economic lessons. The Great Depression, in particular, is an event that provides the opportunity to teach and learn a great deal about economics— whether you’re studying the economic reasons that the Depression took place, the factors that helped it come to an end or the impact on Americans who lived through it. This curriculum is designed to provide teachers with economic lessons that they can share with their students.