Concordia Library: Mountains Beyond Mountains: Project Home

Mountains Beyond Mountains

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Tracy kidder tells the true story of a gifted man who loves the world and has set out to do all he can to cure it. In medical school, Paul Farmer found his life's calling: to cure infectious diseases and to bring the lifesaving tools of modern medicine to those who need them most. Kidder's magnificent account takes us from harvard to Haiti, Peru, Cuba and Russia as Farmer changes minds and practices through his dedication to the philosophy that "the only real nation is humanity."

Excerpt from: Kidder, Tracy. Mountains Beyond Mountains. New York: Random House, 2003.

Mountains Beyond Mountains

The Teen Guide to Global Action: How to Connect with Others (Near & Far) to Create Social Change by Barbara A. Lewis
Call Number: 303.48 LEW

ISBN: 1575422662

Publication Date: 2008

Includes real-life stories, hands-on activities, and up-to-date resources that inspire kids to make significant social changes in the world around them such as fighting hunger and poverty, promoting health and human rights, and saving the environment.
Invisible Enemies: Stories of Infectious Diseases by Jeanette Farrell
Call Number: 616.9 FAR

ISBN: 0374336075

Publication Date: 2005

The story of man's fight against seven major dangerous diseases including smallpox, leprosy, plague, tuberculosis, malaria, cholera, and AIDS.
Tuberculosis : The White Plague! by Miriam Aronin
Call Number: 616.9 ARO

ISBN: 1936088061

Publication Date: 2011

Provides information about tuberculosis, a killer disease that has caused several plagues throughout history, discussing the discovery of the bacteria that causes the disease, how it spreads, and how it is treated, and considering the risk posed by drug-resistant strains of the bacteria.
Battling Malaria: On the Front Lines Against a Global Killer by Connie Goldsmith
Call Number: 616.9 GOL

ISBN: 0822585804

Publication Date: 2011

Examines the effects of malaria and what can be done by health organizations and doctors to treat and prevent the disease worldwide.
Fighting Disease by Judith Anderson with Christian Aid
Call Number: 362.196 AND

ISBN: 1597711942

Publication Date: 2010

Relates the stories of four children from around the world who have been affected by disease, describes actions taken to fulfill the United Nations' Millennium Development goals to improve the health of mothers and combat communicable diseases by 2015, and provides suggestions for ways readers can help.
Diseases in History: HIV/AIDS by Kevin Cunningham
Call Number: 614.5 CUN

ISBN: 1599351048

Publication Date: 2009

Provides information about the human immunodeficiency virus, HIV, and its related syndrome AIDS, chronicles the history of the epidemic, describes public reaction to HIV/AIDS, discusses the emergence of treatments, and includes a look at how HIV/AIDS has spread into a pandemic.
Respiratory Disorders Sourcebook by Sandra J. Judd
Call Number: R 616.2 RES

ISBN: 0780810074

Publication Date: 2008

Provides an introduction to respiratory disorders and covers their symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment, various infectious and inflammatory diseases, and other medical conditions affecting the lungs, with a glossary of terms and resource list.

Paul Farmer with a Patient in Haiti

Photo showing Paul Farmer treating a patient in Haiti. From the blog Thoughts on Life, Literature, Politics, Philosophy, December 24, 2010: http://lexfridman.com/blogs/thoughts/2010/12/24/the-great-epidemiological-divide/

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints provides access to audio clips, news, scholary journals, and video clips on a particular topic.

5 Lessons from Haiti's Disaster
Foreign Policy, December 2010
Farmer's Less Angry but Very Effective
The St. Petersburg Times (St. Petersburg, FL), July 24, 2011
Haiti's Model Aid
The St. Petersburg Times (St. Petersburg, FL), October 10, 2010
Haitians Reserve Their Faith for Religion, not Politicians
The Australian (National, Australia), January 11, 2011