A multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
The many moves of China's Imperial Capitals
Map from http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:China_blank_map-alter3.svg. Imperial capitals information from a map in "The Imperial Capitals of China: A Dynastic History of the Celestial Empire," pg. 10.
"The Imperial Capitals of China is rich in the physical detail of each marvelous historical city as well as in stories of the personalities and politics of its erstwhile inhabitants. The Tang capital at Chang'an demonstrates the striking creativity and cultural receptiveness that earmark the era as a literary and artistic golden age. The Forbidden City of fifteenth century Beijing still stands as testament to Ming dynasty architectural virtuosity." "Arthur Cotterell provides an inside view of the characters, political and ideological tensions, and technological genius that defined the imperial cities of China, as each in turn is uncovered, explored, and celebrated."
The Han Dynasty created an enduring Chinese empire comparable to the Roman Empire. In this book, narrative chapters, biographical sketches, and translated primary documents give readers a unique overview of this important founding dynasty.
Presents a wide range of resources designed to help teachers of grades five through nine introduce their students to the history, art, geography, language, cities, family life, and culture of ancient China. Includes a CD-ROM with more than 250 images and documents.
Presents an historical atlas of 6,000 years of the political and social development of empires such as Egypt, Persia, China, Japan, the Byzantine, Roman, and Ottoman Empires, and empires of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and contains details maps, photographs, and illustrations.
Jingshan Park: Looking towards the Forbidden City
Viewing the Forbidden City from Jingshan Park
View of the Forbidden City From Jingshan Park.Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 19 Aug 2012.