Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Call Number: R 611 DRA
Publication Date: 2005
Contains over one thousand illustrations that describe and explain features of the human anatomy, covering the back, thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, lower and upper limbs, and head and neck, and includes clinical cases and questions.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Call Number: R 611 NET
Publication Date: 2003
Contains labeled, color illustrations of various parts of the human anatomy, organized in the categories of head and neck, back and spinal cord, thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, upper limb, lower limb, and cross-sectional anatomy, and includesan interactive CD-ROM.
Photographic Atlas of the Body by
Call Number: R 611 PHO
Publication Date: 2006
Presents more than 250 color photos of magnified human biology, including cells, tissues, systems, the brain, and the sense organs, along with descriptive text.
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book by
Call Number: R 613 MAY
Publication Date: 2009
A complete medical reference guide for the entire family, covering health aspect through the years, staying well, first aid and emergency care, human diseases and disorders, and modern medical care.
Allergies Sourcebook by
Call Number: R 616.97 ALL
Publication Date: 2007
Presents information and guidance on allergies and allergic reactions, covering the immune system, reaction types, food and food additive triggers, environmental triggers, diagnosis, treatment, and symptom prevention.
The Encyclopedia of Allergies by
Call Number: R 616.97 LIP
Publication Date: 2001
Contains over one thousand alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about different types of allergies and their treatments, and includes lists of professional allergy and asthmas organizations, and other reference materials.
Childhood Diseases and Disorders Sourcebook by
Call Number: R 618.92 CHI
Publication Date: 2009
Provides basic consumer health information about the physical and mental health of children, covering common illnesses and injuries, disease prevention and screening, and wellness promotion; and includes a glossary of important terms and resource directory.
Anatomy and Physiology : an Iillustrated Guide by
Call Number: 612 AMA
Publication Date: 2010
An illustrated introduction to anatomy and physiology that covers cell biology, genetics, and the circulatory, digestive, excretory, endocrine, exocrine, immune, defense, lymphatic, muscular, nervous, reproductive, respiratory, and skeletal systems.
The Human Body in Health & Disease by
Call Number: 612 THI
Publication Date: 2010
A comprehensive text on the human body, covering all systems, major organs and functions, and diseases and pathological conditions; includes color illustrations, chapter tests, and a glossary of medical terminology.
EBSCO - Select the following areas to focus search:
- Science Reference Center
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
JSTOR - select the following under Advanced Search:
- Biological Sciences
- Health Sciences
Three-dimensional visualization reconstructed from scanned human data of male and female figures, revealing immunological structures. The immunological system guards against invading organisms that may cause infection or disease and can be classified as either innate and adaptive. The innate system, the first line of defense, is comprised of mechanical barriers such as skin and mucous membranes, as well as chemical defenders which protect the human body from invaders. The adaptive system is composed of leukocytes, or white blood cells, which circulate in the blood vessels and destroy microorganisms that have penetrated the mechanical barriers of the body.
Immune System. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 17 Nov 2011.
Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
Infectious Mononucleosis (Epstein-Barr Virus)
Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis
Remember to use MeSH terms and add limits to your search. Try to keep articles within the last 5 years.
National Institute of Health
MedlinePlus is supported by NIH. PubMed and NIH can both be accessed through the MedlinePlus website.
National Cancer Institute
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
World Health Organization