Integumentary System

Books

The Human Body in Health & Disease by by Gary A. Thibodeau, Kevin T. Patton
Call Number: 612 THI
ISBN: 0323054919
Publication Date: 2010
A comprehensive text on the human body, covering all systems, major organs and functions, and diseases and pathological conditions; includes color illustrations, chapter tests, and a glossary of medical terminology.
Skin Cancer by Connie Goldsmith
Call Number: 616.99 GOL
ISBN: 0761354697
Publication Date: 2011
Provides an overview of skin cancer, discussing its causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and dangers.
The Encyclopedia of Cancer by Carol Turkington, William LiPera
Call Number: R 616.99 TUR
ISBN: 0816050295
Publication Date: 2005
Provides a comprehensive introduction to many forms and types of cancer, prevention, and treatment and contains over four hundred entries that discuss statistics, research developments, cancer organizations, and gender and racial differences.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard L. Drake, Wayne Vogl, Adam W.M. Mitchell
Call Number: R 611 DRA
ISBN: 0443066124
Publication Date: 2005
Contains over one thousand illustrations that describe and explain features of the human anatomy, covering the back, thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, lower and upper limbs, and head and neck, and includes clinical cases and questions.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by by Frank H. Netter
Call Number: R 611 NET
ISBN: 1929007116
Publication Date: 2003
Contains labeled, color illustrations of various parts of the human anatomy, organized in the categories of head and neck, back and spinal cord, thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, upper limb, lower limb, and cross-sectional anatomy, and includesan interactive CD-ROM.
Photographic Atlas of the Body by pictures supplied by the Science Photo Library; foreword by Susan Greenfield
Call Number: R 611 PHO
ISBN: 1552979733
Publication Date: 2006
Presents more than 250 color photos of magnified human biology, including cells, tissues, systems, the brain, and the sense organs, along with descriptive text.
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book by Scott C. Litin, editor-in-chief
Call Number: R 613 MAY
ISBN: 1603200770
Publication Date: 2009
A complete medical reference guide for the entire family, covering health aspect through the years, staying well, first aid and emergency care, human diseases and disorders, and modern medical care.
American College of Physicians Complete Home Medical Guide by editor-in-chief, David R. Goldmann
Call Number: R 616.02 AME
ISBN: 0789496739
Publication Date: 2003
Provides information on various aspects of health and medicine, discussing screening, drug treatments, and surgery; and features charts for assessing symptoms, and descriptions of over seven hundred medical conditions.
Childhood Diseases and Disorders Sourcebook by edited by Sandra J. Judd
Call Number: R 618.92 CHI
ISBN: 0780810317
Publication Date: 2009
Provides basic consumer health information about the physical and mental health of children, covering common illnesses and injuries, disease prevention and screening, and wellness promotion; and includes a glossary of important terms and resource directory.

Cross-section diagram of human skin.

Giuliano Fornari/ Dorling Kindersley / Universal Images Group. Cross-section Diagram Of Human Skin.. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 14 Nov 2011.

Subscription Databases

EBSCO - Select the following areas to focus search:

Science Reference Center
CINAHL
Health Source - Consumer Edition

JSTOR - select the following under Advanced Search:

Biological Sciences
Health Sciences

Web Resources

PubMed
Public Database
Remember to use MeSH terms and add limits to your search. Try to keep articles within the last 5 years.
more...less...
PubMed is supported by NIH. You can access PubMed through the NIH website and vice versa.
NIH
National Institute of Health
more...less...
NIH searches will result in a list of organizations and websites with scholarly information. MedlinePlus and PubMed can be accessed through NIH.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is supported by NIH. PubMed and NIH can both be accessed through the MedlinePlus website.
Mayo Clinic
Diseases Index
NCI
National Cancer Institute
CDC
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
New York Department of Health
Diseases and Conditions
WHO
World Health Organization
more...less...
WHO categorizes diseases. The best way to search is by typing the name of the disease in the search box to determine which category it is listed under.
AARP
Health Encylopedia

Possible Topics

Acne
Albinism
Athlete's Foot
Baldness
Boils
Chicken Pox
Eczema
Harlequin Ichthyosis
Heat Rash
Hives
Ink Poisoning
Malignant Melanoma (Skin Cancer)
Psoriasis
Ringworm
Shingles
Scabies
Sunburn
Vitiglio

Anatomy & Physiology - Diseases Presentation: Integumentary System

Books

Integumentary System

Subscription Databases

Web Resources

Possible Topics