Leadership: Books

It takes a great deal of personal strength, charisma, and intelligence to lead others. Some leaders improve the lives of their fellow citizens while others rule with an iron fist, oblivious to the plight of others. This book covers the lives and agendas of our most memorable and powerful leadersthose who history has justifiably vilified and others who will be cherished for years to come.

If necessity is indeed the mother of all invention, then the individuals profiled in this volume should be considered the most laudable of all midwives. They each saw a need and met it. Readers will learn more about the lives and methodologies of well-known inventors such as Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Edison, and become familiar with innovators who have touched our lives though they have remained nameless or long forgotten.

Welcome your readers to a veritable feast for eyes, minds, and, by extension, ears. Filled with profiles of truly accomplished musicians across a broad spectrum of musical styles and genres, this volume introduces varied musical artists including Ludwig von Beethoven, Elvis Presley, and Jay-Z. This comprehensive and entertaining narrative is supported by captivating photographs and illustrations.

Leonardo da Vincis study of mechanics led to the creation of early prototypes of flying machines and submarines. Biologist Carolus Linnaeus pioneered the hierarchal system of taxonomic classification in use today. Barbara McClintocks genetics research garnered her the Nobel Prize in Medicine. Detailed profiles of these and many other notable scientists are thoughtfully collected within these pages, and are supported by stunning photographs and images. Readers will be fascinated and inspired for years to come.

Describes seven habits teenagers can cultivate to help them improve their self-images, build friendships, resist peer pressure, achieve goals, get along with parents, and make other positive changes in their lives.

Presents inspirational, autobiographical stories from over fifty celebrities and others which are designed to inspire teenagers to overcome their troubles and celebrate their triumphs.

A program, based on the Dale Carnegie Course of human relations training, that covers assertiveness; effective interpersonal and business communications; how to relate to seven major personality types; conflict resolution; and other related topics.

Explores how to lead a heroic life, facing challenges with courage, strength of character, and wisdom, much as a hiker uses those qualities on a challenging trail.

Explains the virtue of leadership and describes ways to be a leader in the home, school, and community.

Profiles fifteen activists who were inspired by the life and work of Mohandas Gandhi to use nonviolent protest as a means of bringing about social change.

Shares the true-to-life stories of nine teen and preteen girls who are trying to find the leader in themselves, each with comments and advice from psychologist Dr. Vicki Panaccione.

A guide to improving the atmosphere at work, given in the format of a novel: a fictional manager learns how to improve her co-workers' morale and production by following the lead of the remarkably energetic Pike Place Fish market in Seattle.

Explains how great leaders throughout history have used simple yet very effective tricks to speak, persuade, and win throngs of fans and followers; includes examples from historical speeches.

Provides easy-to-follow instruction for researching, writing, and presenting polished, professional-sounding speeches.

A step-by-step guide to writing a speech that discusses various kinds of audiences and purposes, research, audiovisual aids, and other related topics and features sample speeches with instructive annotations, Web-based exercises and resources, and group activities.

Provides guidance for students on the elements of successful persuasive and extemporaneous speaking, and discusses preparation, delivery, and competition.

Contains nearly eighty significant speeches from throughout the history of the United States, grouped by theme, each with a brief explanatory introduction.

Chronologically arranged entries profile one hundred of the world's most influential writers from ancient times through the twentieth century.

Profiles one hundred notable women from throughout history, including politicians, royalty, authors, and entertainers, describing their lives and achievements; those profiled include Sappho, Joan of Arc, Eleanor Roosevelt, Virginia Woolf, and Aung San Suu K

Collects brief discussions of the lives and philosophical viewpoints of one hundred thinkers throughout history, arranged chronologically by date of birth, including figures from the fields of ontology, epistemology, and ethics.

Profiles one hundred painters and sculptors from throughout history, describing their lives and achievements; those profiled include Lorenzo Ghiberti, Jan van Eyck, Michelangelo, Titian, and El Greco.

Presents biographical profiles of one hundred spiritual leaders significant to world history, arranged chronologically according to birth year, including Akhenaten, Moses, Jesus Christ, Socrates, Lao-tzu, the Buddha, Confucius, Muhammad, Mohandas Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Martin Luther King Jr., Desmond Tutu, Pope John Paul II, and the Fourteenth Dalai Lama.

Provides brief biographies of athletes who were trailblazers in some way or who introduced new techniques in their particular sport.

Profiles the lives and unusual teachings of six charismatic cult leaders: Mother Ann Lee, Father Divine, L. Ron Hubbard, Sun Myung Moon, Jim Jones, and David Koresh.

Brief biographies of 100 artists, from ancient Greece to the present day, who played significant roles in the development of sculpture, painting, and photography.

Presents thousands of quotations, jokes, and aphorisms grouped in approximately three hundred themes, such as adversity, sports, marriage, children, biotechnology, and freedom and liberty, and provides an alphabetical list and tips on speech-making.

Profiles twelve business leaders, including Jeff Bezos, Richard Branson, Carly Fiorina, and Bill Gates, describing their personal lives, career paths, leadership strategies, political influence, critics' charges, and possible future impacts. Includes chronologies and lists of further resources.

Profiles twelve business leaders, including Anita Roddick, Howard Schultz, Ted Turner, and Oprah Winfrey, describing their personal lives, career paths, leadership strategies, political influence, critics' charges, and possible future impacts. Includes chronologies and lists of further resources.