Phoenix Library: Open Access & More

The Directory of Open Access Books is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.

The Directory of Open Access Journal's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.

CORE (COnnecting REpositories) provides a comprehensive bibliographic database of the world’s scholarly literature, collecting and indexing research from repositories and journals. It is also one of the world’s largest collection of full text open access research papers

ProCon.org provides balanced, non-partisan pro and con arguments on a wide range of controversial topics, from social issues to education and government policies. It aims to promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship. 

What Should I Read Next?

What Should I Read Next? is a book recommendation platform that recommends books based on what you've liked before. Its algorithm predicts what you'll like based on what others have also liked, strengthening connections between works. 

Meet New Books

Meet New Books is a personalized book recommendation platform. Users rate and add books to their shelves, and the platform generates tailored recommendations. It also provides insights into what other readers with similar tastes are reading by recommending other books based on one you've liked before. 

Which Book

Whichbook is a book recommendation platform that uses mood and emotion to suggest what to read next. It offers a new way of discovering books, allowing users to find titles based on the specific 'flavor' they're in the mood for.

ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that puts research in context. Smart filters, topical collections and input from the academic community help you to find the most relevant articles in your field and beyond.

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

The Public Library of Science is a platform that offers a wealth of scientific and medical literature for free. Users can access a wide range of peer-reviewed journals across various disciplines.

Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool offering features like automatically generated summaries, identification of key connections, and highlighting influential elements of papers. It's designed for researchers, students, and professionals to efficiently navigate scientific literature.

PubMed supports the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering

The Social Science Research Network is a repository for scholarly research, primarily in the social sciences such as economics, law, humanities, and more. It also encourages direct communication between authors and readers.

EconBiz provides access to scholarly publications in economics and business from highly ranked journals and articles from books.

The Conversation is a collaboration between academics and journalists who produce research-based news and analysis. Professional editors work with academics to turn knowledge and insights into easy-to-read articles, and make them accessible to general readers.

All Sides is a media bias rating platform that offers balanced news and diverse perspectives. It rates online content on a left-right scale, presenting different versions of similar news stories from sources across the political spectrum. All Sides aims to expose media bias and free people from filter bubbles, enhancing understanding of the world and each other.

WolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine that computes answers from externally sourced data, providing users with specific results. It's particularly adept at handling mathematical and scientific queries, offering step-by-step solutions, graphs, and visualizations. 

Datasets

A dataset is a structured collection of data, often presented in a tabular format with each column representing a different variable and each row corresponding to a single record or data point. Click on the dataset icon to access a range of freely available datasets.