Skip to Main Content

Book Lists: Newbery Medal

Lists to help you find your next favorite book. This LibGuide features good books including Award Winners, Popular Awards, Librarian's Picks, and Popular Books checked out at Concordia!

Newbery Medal


The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Newbery Award Winners

2022 Medal Winner

The Last Cuentista,written by Donna Barba Higuera

2021 Medal Winner

When You Trap a Tiger,written by Tae Keller

2020 Medal Winner

New Kid ,written by Jerry Craft

2019 Medal Winner

Merci Suárez Changes Gears, written by Meg Medina

2018 Medal Winner

Hello Universe, written by Erin Entrada Kelly

Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds

2022 Newbery Medal WInner

Newbery Honors 2022

2021 Newbery Medal WInner

Newbery Honors 2021

2020 Newbery Medal WInner

Newbery Honors 2020

2019 Newbery Medal Winner

Newbery Medal 2019 Honors

Past winners in the Library