Skip to main content

Award Winning Books: Newbery Medal

Lists to help you find your next favorite book. This LibGuide features good books including Award Winners, Popular Awards, Librarian's Picks, and Popular Books checked out at Concordia!

Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Newbery Award Winners

2019 Medal Winner

Merci Suárez Changes Gears, written by Meg Medina

2019 Honor Books

The Night Diary, written by Veera Hiranandani

The Book of Boy, written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

2018 Medal Winner

Hello Universe, written by Erin Entrada Kelly

Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds

2019 Newbery Medal Winner

Newbery Medal 2019 Honors

Past winners in the Library