Animal Adaptations and Invasive Species: Books from the LIbrary

This title provides an in-depth look at how organisms have become uniquely suited to their environment, from feeding methods, migration, hunting, and adaptations to the climate, to the role competition plays in changing communities. In addition, the book examines ways to protect the environment, recent breakthroughs in genetic engineering, and the future of biotechnology.

Discover how living things adapt to the world around them, creating millions of different species. Explore the fascinating world of living things, including the processes that keep animals and plants alive, and how people study them. Fact boxes that introduce the most amazing plants and animals are featured in this book along with colorful photographs that show the incredible diversity of life. This book includes a glossary and resources for further research.

'Adaptations' is split into five chapters, including Adaptations; A Process of Change; Defenses; Feeding; and Reproduction. It concludes with a glossary of terms.

There are creatures living in almost every part of the world--from the hot, rainy tropics to the icy polar caps, and from the dry desert to the depths of the ocean. No matter where they live on earth, all living things seem to be perfectly suited to their environment. Scientists say that these adaptations did not happen overnight. They are the result of a long process of gradual changes over many generations. Well-known science writers Alvin and Virginia Silverstein and Laura Silverstein Nunn explain Darwin's theory of evolution, unique adaptations of humans and other animals, and what the latest research on adaptation reveals.

This is a fascinating encyclopedia comparing the most important adaptations and evolutions in the natural world with the most important discoveries and inventions of human history. Welcome to the amazing world of adaptations, where species--including humans--develop fascinating new capabilities to ensure a competitive edge in their environment, or in some cases, survival itself. Encyclopedia of Adaptations in the Natural World is a wide-ranging catalog of the most important of those adaptations--from photosynthesis to the the peculiar "vampire"-like behavior of the tiny life form called the prion. The seven chapters in the Encyclopedia cover the key survival challenges all organisms face. Entries within those chapters cover specific adaptations from all forms of life, including animals, plants, bacteria, algae, fungi, and viruses. For each adaptation, the book also describes a related technological breakthrough in the human world, showing how engineers today study natural processes to help them develop new inventions. Provides diagrams of the process of photosynthesis, the functional areas of the human brain, and the bluefin tuna Includes 58 photographs and electron microscope images illustrating the adaptations in the book Presents bibliographic listings of key reference books, internet resources, and academic papers for further reading

There are 6,200 known invasive species in the United States, and scientists are scrambling to stop their unique paths of destruction, which can take a huge toll on regional economies and ecosystems. To effectively combat an invader, scientists must know the organism inside and out: What does it eat? How does it reproduce? What was its environment like in its native home? There are many questions, but just one right answer might yield a weakness in the enemy. In this entry in the Scientistsin the Field series, Sneed B. Collard III introduces readers to some of the most brilliant minds, and promising advances, in the war against invasive species.