Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Author Study: Haruki Murakami Curated by Ashley Tang '19

This Libguide provides a detailed analysis of Japanese author Haruki Murakami and delves into his writing accomplishments.

“1968 And the Japanese Student Movement.” Socialist.ca, www.socialist.ca/node/3552.

“Aftermath of The Kobe Earthquake.” U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration, www.fhwa.dot.gov/publications/publicroads/96fall/p96au17.cfm.

Aum Shinrikyo: Images from the 1995 Tokyo Sarin Attack.” BBC News, BBC, 6 July 2018, www.bbc.com/news/in-pictures-43629706.

Editors, About Japan. “A Teachers Resource | 1969 Tokyo University Protests | Japan Society.” About Japan, aboutjapan.japansociety.org/tokyo_university_protest.“Sarin Gas Attack Survivor Recalls near Miss on Tokyo Subway.” South China Morning Post, South China Morning Post, 19 Mar. 2015, www.scmp.com/news/asia/article/1742314/sarin-gas-attack-survivor-recalls-near-miss-tokyo-subway.

Eiji, Oguma. “What Was ‘The 1968 Movement’? Japan's Experience in A Global Perspective.” Asia-Pacific Research, 1 June 2018, www.asia-pacificresearch.com/what-was-the-1968-movement-japans-experience-in-a-global-perspective/5628045.

Giles, Jeff. “A Shock to the System.” The New York Times, The New York Times, 18 Aug. 2002, www.nytimes.com/2002/08/18/books/a-shock-to-the-system.html.

Gioia, Ted. The Bad Girl by Mario Vargas Llosa, www.greatbooksguide.com/norwegian_wood.

“Haruki Murakami Stock Photos and Images.” Alamy, www.alamy.com/stock-photo/haruki-murakami.html.

“Kobe Marks 21 Years since Deadly Hanshin Earthquake.” The Japan Times, www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2016/01/17/national/kobe-marks-21-years-since-deadly-hanshin-earthquake/#.XBCaJxMzY0o.

“March 20, 1995 – Terrorist Sarin Attack in Tokyo.” Legal Legacy, 4 Feb. 2018, legallegacy.wordpress.com/2015/03/20/march-20-1995-terrorist-sarin-attack-in-tokyo/.

Michel, Lincoln. “Haruki Murakami to Pen Advice Column for Fans – Electric Literature.” Electric Literature, Electric Literature, 7 Jan. 2015, electricliterature.com/haruki-murakami-to-pen-advice-column-for-fans-b8e9d3bf0648.

Poole, Steven. “Haruki Murakami: 'I'm an Outcast of the Japanese Literary World'.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 13 Sept. 2014, www.theguardian.com/books/2014/sep/13/haruki-murakami-interview-colorless-tsukur-tazaki-and-his-years-of-pilgrimage.

“Public Protest in Japan: Power to the People?” The Japan Times, www.japantimes.co.jp/life/2014/12/20/general/public-protest-japan-power-people/.

Ryall, Julian. “Japan's Final Sarin Gas Trial Unlikely to Bring Closure.” The Telegraph, Telegraph Media Group, 16 Jan. 2015, www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/japan/11351150/Japans-final-sarin-gas-trial-unlikely-to-bring-closure.html.

Smith, Lydia. “Kobe Earthquake 20th Anniversary: Facts about the Devastating 1995 Great Hanshin Earthquake.” International Business Times UK, Deep Silver, 16 Jan. 2015, www.ibtimes.co.uk/kobe-earthquake-20th-anniversary-facts-about-devastating-1995-great-hanshin-earthquake-1483786

“The Politics of Haruki Murakami, Part 1.” That Faint Light, 17 June 2012, thatfaintlight.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/the-politics-of-haruki-murakami-part-1/.

“Writer on the Borderline.” The Japan Times, www.japantimes.co.jp/community/2002/12/01/general/writer-on-the-borderline/#.XBCbLBMzY0o.