Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Author Study: Franz Kafka Curated by Taylor Adams '18

This LibGuide provides information on renowned author Franz Kafka, as well as extensive analysis of his most popular works.

Home Page Pictures:

 

Akroatis. “Rotating 42-Layer Sculpture of Franz Kafkas Head by David Cerny.” TIMEWHEEL, 23 May 2016, timewheel.net/rotating-42-layer-sculpture-of-franz-kafka-s-head-by-david-cerny.

Mee&Jey. “When Samsa Became Human...” Artologue, 8 Oct. 2017, artologue.in/samsa-became-human/.

“Franz Kafka.” DeviantArt, pixx-73.deviantart.com/art/Franz-Kafka-194056337.

Sovfoto. “Czech Writer Franz Kafka in the Old Town Square in Prague, 1920-21.” Getty Images, www.gettyimages.com/detail/news-photo/czech-writer-franz-kafka-in-the-old-town-square-in-prague-news-photo/183975581#czech-writer-franz-kafka-in-the-old-town-square-in-prague-192021-picture-id183975581.

“Franz Kafka – How to Behave in a Metamorphosis.” Karlheinz Ulmer, karlheinz-ulmer.com/franz-kafka-how-to-behave-in-a-metamorphosis/.

“Franz Kafka | Penguin Random House.” PenguinRandomhouse.com, www.penguinrandomhouse.com/authors/14934/franz-kafka.

“Relevant Articles App.” Uvdesk, www.uvdesk.com/en/apps/relevant-articles-app/.

Historical Context Pictures:

 

“Relevant Articles App.” Uvdesk, www.uvdesk.com/en/apps/relevant-articles-app/.

“TOM CLARK.” Walter Benjamin: Franz Kafka's Left Ear, tomclarkblog.blogspot.nl/2011/04/walter-benjamin-franz-kafkas-left-ear.html.

“Czech Chocolate Cake Recipe.” Santa Barbara Chocolate, www.santabarbarachocolate.com/blog/czech-chocolate-cake-recipe-/.

“Franz Kafka Grave.” DeviantArt, bubba77.deviantart.com/art/Franz-Kafka-Grave-141671873.

“Franz Kafka.” Franz Kafka - Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Franz_Kafka.

Personal Life Pictures: 

“Exclusive: The Advertisement Published by Franz Kafka in a Well-Known Zionist Newspaper Has Been Discovered.” הספרייה הלאומית, web.nli.org.il/sites/NLI/English/library/reading_corner/Pages/kafka_zionist.aspx.

Deutsche Welle. “Franz Kafka, the Tormented Poet | All Media Content | DW | 03.07.2013.” DW.COM, www.dw.com/en/franz-kafka-the-tormented-poet/g-16922404.

“Relevant Articles App.” Uvdesk, www.uvdesk.com/en/apps/relevant-articles-app/.

Style Pictures:

“'The Metamorphosis' – an Evolution Lasting a Century.” PORTSMOUTH POINT, portsmouthpoint.blogspot.nl/2015/10/the-metamorphosis evolution-lasting.html.

“Kafka's Quest-Feels Real in Our Times.” Jewish Business News, 22 Mar. 2015, jewishbusinessnews.com/2015/03/11/kafkas-quest-feels-real-inour-times/.

“Relevant Articles App.” Uvdesk, www.uvdesk.com/en/apps/relevant-articles-app/

Themes Pictures: 

Mihai, Cristian. “A Hunger Artist.” Cristian Mihai, 19 Sept. 2014, cristianmihai.net/2014/09/19/hunger/.

“Relevant Articles App.” Uvdesk, www.uvdesk.com/en/apps/relevant-articles-app/

Notable Works Pictures:

Kafka, Franz. “In the Penal Colony.” Feedbooks, www.feedbooks.com/book/191/in-the-penal-colony.

“14 September 2016.” Review: Amerika by Franz Kafka, www.bibliofreak.net/2016/09/review-amerika-by-franz-kafka.html.

“The Metamorphosis: Franz Kafka: 9780553213690:” Http://Www.booksamillion.com/p/Metamorphosis/Franz-Kafka/9780553213690, www.booksamillion.com/p/Metamorphosis/Franz-Kafka/9780553213690.

“Michael Almaz.” Unfinished Histories, www.unfinishedhistories.com/interviews/interviewees-a-e/michael-almaz/.

Kafka, Franz, and translated by Willa and Edwin Muir. “The Castle.” Franz Kafka, Translated by Willa and Edwin Muir | Digital Library Bookfi, en.bookfi.net/book/1368977.

Soloman, Debra. “The Hunger Artist.” Culiblog » The Hunger Artist, www.culiblog.org/2005/11/the-hunger-artist/.

“30 Greatest Posthumous Novels.” ShortList, 7 May 2013, www.shortlist.com/entertainment/books/30-greatest-posthumous-novels/94848

Criticisms Pictures:

“Kafka.” Jacket Mechanical, jacketmechanical.blogspot.nl/2011/01/kafka.html.

“Relevant Articles App.” Uvdesk, www.uvdesk.com/en/apps/relevant-articles-app/

“Exhibition 'Franz Kafka - The Entire Trial' at Berlin's Martin Gropius Bau Museum.”Zimbiowww.zimbio.com/pictures/CfeuI8dapaN/Exhibition+Franz+Kafka+Entire+Trial+Berlin.