Ruth Gruber, special assistant to Secretary of the Interior Harold Ickes, tells about her experiences carrying out a mission to bring one thousand Jewish and Christian refugees from Italy in 1944, and discusses her efforts on their behalf once they arrived in America.
Contains eyewitness accounts from people who experienced World War II as soldiers and civilians, provides information on the history of events and its aftermath, and includes photographs, maps, time lines, and footage on DVD.
A guide to researching World War II, providing an overview of the research process, and offering advice on where to find information, questions to ask, where to find basic facts, how to select a topic, the types of sources available, organization, and presentation.
Chronicles the wartime experiences of the crew aboard the USS "Billfish," after the submarine was spotted by a Japanese destroyer during their patrol of the Makasar Strait during World War II, and details the actions of diving officer Charlie Rush, which allowed the sub and crew to survive the attack.
Examines the wartime circumstances and reasoning behind Harry Truman's decision to use atomic bombs against Japan in World War II, explores major debates surrounding the decision, and reviews primary source documents that describe Japan and America's behavior during the war's final days.
Canadian World War II pilot Charley Fox, now in his late eighties, has had a thrilling life, especially on the day in July 1944 in France when he spotted a black staff car, the kind usually employed to drive high-ranking Third Reich dignitaries. Already noted for his skill in dive-bombing and strafing the enemy, Fox went in to attack the automobile. As it turned out, the car contained famed German General Erwin Rommel, the Desert Fox, and Charley succeeded in wounding him.
This series presents an unbiased account of the most devastating wars that the world has ever seen. Detailed and highly illustrated with "primary source" documents, students will examine the 20th century’s greatest conflicts through first-hand accounts and powerful archival photographs.
The Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America brings together a group of distinguished scholars to explore how war has been reported and interpreted by the media in the United States and what effects those reports and interpretations have had on the people at home and on the battlefield.
Presents an overview of events leading up to World War II, focusing on the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, and features primary source materials that provide insights into the experiences of people who witnessed or were otherwise affected by the attack, with photographs of related artifacts and time lines.
Describes the lives of the members of the Frank family before and after they were forced into hiding from the Nazis during World War II, and features a fictional diary that views events from the perspective of Anne's sister Margot.
Analyzes the persecution and murder of Jews throughout occupied Europe during World War II, examining German extermination policies and measures and their reliance on the cooperation of local authorities.
An account of the Nazi destruction of six million Jews during World War II, with personal experiences of life in the ghettos and concentration camps recorded in letters, diaries, memoirs, poems, and songs.
Profiles over twenty novels, nonfiction books, films, and other creative works about the Holocaust, providing information on their authors, composers, or directors; their content; and their relationship to real events; and also includes an introduction, a time line, and a bibliography.
Presents over one hundred interviews from Auschwitz survivors and their Nazi captors that reveal first-hand accounts of the inner workings of the infamous death camp, their techniques of mass murder, and the decisions by Nazi leaders to use Auschwitz as its primary site for the extinction of European Jews.
Ten women from Jewish-Christian German families relate their experiences during the Third Reich, under which such individuals, though they considered themselves Christian, were persecuted under the Nuremberg Laws as "half-breeds."
Presents first-person accounts from twenty-seven witnesses to the Holocaust, including Jews, Gentiles, Americans, a member of the Hitler Youth, a Jesuit priest, resistance fighters, and child survivors.
Describes the atrocities committed against Jews, Gypsies, the handicapped, and other minorities in the German concentration camps, and the many trials which brought to justice some of those who were responsible.
Presents an oral history of the destruction, murder, and chaos of November 9 and 10, 1938, when Nazis and members of Hitler's "Brownshirts" destroyed Jewish businesses and homes as well as schools and synagogues, and either arrested or murdered thousands of Jews across Germany.
Examines three controversial issues in Holocaust scholarship, including the decision and policy-making in the Nazi regime that led to the attempt to totally eliminate the Jews; the use of Jewish labor; and the attitudes, motivations, and adaptations of ordinary Germans who carried out Nazi policy at the local level.
Essays describe several aspects of the Holocaust, including its background, the ghettos, the concentration camps, the victims, resistance efforts, rescuers, the aftermath, and other topics; also includes a chronology, bibliography, and other reference resources.
Tells the story of the Holocaust, tracing the origins of Nazi anti-Semitism; following the development of plans for the extermination of the Jews, with discussion of the ghettos, the final solution, deportations, the camps, resistance, rescuers, and other topics; and including responses to claims that the Holocaust never happened.
Details the massacre that took place in December 1937 when the Japanese army overthrew the ancient city of Nanking, China, and raped, tortured, and murdered over 300,000 civilians; examining the atrocity from the perspective of the Japanese soldiers, the Chinese civilians, and the Europeans and Americans who created a safety zone for survivors.
Presents excerpts from the diaries and correspondence of Minnie Vautrin, an Illinois farmgirl teaching in Nanjing, China, at the time of the Japanese invasion in December 1937, telling the story of how she turned her school into a sanctuary for ten thousand women and girls, and providing insights into how they survived the violence which has since become known as the Rape of Nanjing.
A biography of American missionary Minnie Vautrin, based on diaries she kept between 1919 and 1941, focusing on the heroic measures she took to protect ten thousand Chinese women and children from the marauding Japanese army during the Sino-Japanese War, and discussing her efforts to help the refugees after the siege of Nanking.
Contains eight hundred alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on notable events, concepts, and people in the history of China, and includes sidebars, illustrations, and a comprehensive index.