Includes biographical information about the ancient Greek playwright Sophocles, with selections discussing his writing style, literary devices, and dramatic technique; essays examining "Oedipus the King"; and articles that look at his other plays and various attempts to translate them into mediums besides theater.
Presents a collection of alphabetically arranged entries that provide a comprehensive overview of the ancient Greek world, from the Minoan civilization to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece, including information on the mythology, poetry, drama, sculpture, architecture, and science of this ancient culture.
Provides information about the arts and leisure activities of ancient Greeks, examining various monuments and public buildings and the reasons for their construction, and discussing various art forms, literature and education, theater and drama, athletic competitions, and games.
An introduction to the ancient Greece that explains how their civilization influenced later societies, and discusses art, architecture, beliefs, warfare, the theater, philosophy, science, and democracy.
Looks to Christian iconography, Greek and Roman mythology, and folklore to provide insights into the meaning of the symbols, themes, and motifs depicted in over one hundred paintings by Italian, Netherlandish, German, and Spanish masters
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that explain the meaning and origins of approximately two thousand allusions found in the Bible, as well as in Greek, Roman, Norse, and other mythologies, and includes examples of usage and cross-references.
Presents biographies of nineteen playwrights throughout history, from Aeschylus and Aristophanes to Arthur Miller and Lorraine Hansberry, and includes thirteen primary documents and a further reading list.
Describes various groups within ancient Greek society, including athletes, philosophers, priests and priestesses, poets and playwrights, artists and architects, warriors, and slaves and workers, and includes a time line, a biographical dictionary, and a glossary.