Skip to Main Content

Modern World History: The Renaissance in Florence: Artistic

Northern Renaissance

 
Solomon and the Queen of Sheba' 1437. Tempera on Wood. Fragment of an altarpiece. Konrad or Conrad Witz (c1400-1446) German Northern Renaissance painter. Fabric Silk Metal Gold Cup and Cover
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "Solomon And The Queen Of Sheba' 1437. Tempera On Wood. Fragment Of An Altarpiece. Konrad Or Conrad Witz (c1400-1446) German Northern Renaissance Painter. Fabric Silk Metal Gold Cup And Cover ", accessed 16 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/300_2283882.
 
 
Web Resources:

Alberti

Alberti, Leon Battista (1404-72). Diaphanorama - Iglesia de Santa Maria Novella - Renacimiento Italiano
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "ALBERTI", accessed 17 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/144_1455897.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Alberti, Leon Battista
    • Alberti, Leon Battista Quotes
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Leon Battista Alberti
  • History Reference Center
    • Leon Battista Alberti
Grove Art Online
  • Leon Battista Alberti: S Francesco
  • Alberti, Leon Battista Biography
Web Resources:

Botticelli

Botticelli: Birth of Venus. - Canvas, c1480.
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "BOTTICELLI: BIRTH OF VENUS. - Canvas, C1480.", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/140_1643047.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Botticelli, Sandro
    • Botticelli, Sandro: Allegorie Nuptiale
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Botticelli, Sandro Biography
  • History Reference Center
    • A Renaissance Gallery
Grove Art Online
  • Sandro Botticelli Biography
Web Resources:

Brunelleschi

Pazzi Chapel, designed by Filippo Brunelleschi and located in the cloister of the Church of Santa Croce in Florence
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "Brunelleschi, Filippo", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/153_2389758.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Brunelleschi, Filippo
    • Brunelleschi, Filippo: Statue
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Brunelleschi, Filippo (Italian Architect) Biography
  • History Reference Center
    • Flash Focus: Italy in the Renaissance
    • Brunelleschi: Humanist or Nationalist?
Grove Art Online
  • Filippo Brunelleschi: Dome of Florence Cathedral
  • Filippo Brunelleschi Biography
Web Resources:

Donatello

The Pazzi Madonna (Virgin and Child) Marble, c1417-18. Donatello (c1386-1466) Florentine sculptor. Italian.
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "The Pazzi Madonna (Virgin And Child) Marble, C1417-18. Donatello (c1386-1466) Florentine Sculptor. Italian.", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/300_2292344.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Donatello
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Donatello (Italian Fine Artist)
  • History Reference Center
    • Sign Posts of Invention: Artists' Signatures in Italian Renaissance Art
    • Donatello in Perspective: The Chellini Madonna
Grove Art Online
  • Donatello Biography
  • Donatello: David, Bronze
Web Resources:

Ghiberti

 
Detail of Ghiberti's Doors at the Duomo, Florence, Italy. Architect: Lorenzo Ghiberti.
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "Detail Of Ghiberti's Doors At The Duomo", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/111_1503126.
 
Web Resources:

Michelangelo

Michelangelo's David, housed in The Accademy Gallery in Florence
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "Michelangelo's David", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/153_2942976.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Michelangelo: Creation of Adam
    • Michelangelo: David
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Michelangelo (Italian Fine Artist)
  • History Reference Center
    • Michelangelo: The Artist, the Man, and his Times
    • Michelangelo Antonioni
Grove Art Online
  • Michelangelo Biography
Web Resources:

da Vinci

The Rule of Proportions by Leonardo Da Vinci.
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "Da Vinci Rule Of Proportions", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/139_1948845.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Leonardo da Vinci: The Proportions of the Human Figure
    • Leonardo da Vinci: Aerial Screw
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Da Vinci, Leonardo (Italian Fine Artist)
  • History Reference Center
    • Leonardo da Vinci: 1452-1519
Grove Art Online
  • Leonardo da Vinci: "Mona Lisa"
  • Leonardo da Vinci Biography
Web Resources:

Van Eyck

The Crucifixion Created by Van Eyck Jan ,Van Eyck Hubert - All. Crucifixion Madonna St John bystanders/onlookers cross town skyline buildings on background architecture white pink blue green red brown tones/hues - Italy, Venice, Ca' d'Oro
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "The Crucifixion Created By Van Eyck Jan ,Van Eyck Hubert", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/135_1594618.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Eyck, Jan van
    • Eyck, Jan van: The Arnolfini Portrait
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Eyck, Jan van (Flemish Painter)
  • History Reference Center
    • Van Eyck (Encyclopedia Article)
    • Jan van Eyck Biography
Web Resources:

Raphael

The School of Athens 1509-11 Raphael (1483-1520 Italian) Fresco Stanza della Segnatura, Palazzi Pontifici, Vatican City Painting Details: 1509-11 - fresco - Stanza della Segnatura, Palazzi Pontifici, Vatican City Artist Details: Raphael, 1483 - 1520, Italian
Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest, "School Of Athens, The", accessed 7 Aug 2012, http://quest.eb.com/images/107_3364190.

Subscription Databases:

ABC-CLIO
  • World History: Ancient and Midieval Eras
    • Raphael: School of Athens
    • Raphael Biography
Britannica Image Quest
EBSCO
  • Biography Reference Center
    • Raphael (Italian Fine Artist)
  • History Reference Center
    • Raphael Biography
Grove Art Online
  • Raphael
Web Resources: