Night by Elie Wiesel: The Lessons of the Holocaust: The Holocaust

A biography of the Nazi leader responsible for organizing the execution of the Jews in the Holocaust.

Describes the atrocities committed against Jews, Gypsies, the handicapped, and other minorities in the German concentration camps, and the many trials which brought to justice some of those who were responsible.

Explores examples of armed and unarmed resistance by Jews and other Holocaust victims.

Biography of Nazi hunter Simon Wiesenthal, discussing his early life, describing his survival in thirteen concentration camps, and providing accounts of his major hunts of Nazi criminals, including Adolf Eichmann, the case that established Wiesenthal's reputation.

A member of 3 Troop, a secret British commando unit made up of Jewish refugees, tells his story.

Discusses the Nuremberg Nazi war crimes trial in which Nazi leaders, including Hermann Goering, Rudolf Hess, and Wilhelm Keitel, were tried for their roles in the Holocaust.

Discusses incidents of various crimes against humanity, including particular war crimes and acts of genocide, and ways to prevent these atrocities.

Chronicles the trial of the Nazi war criminal, which became a reminder to the world of the horrors of the Jewish Holocaust.

Journal excerpts help chronicle the experiences Hannah Senesh had while risking her life to save hundreds of fellow Jews from the Nazis.

Thomas Buergenthanl, a judge at the International Court of Justice in The Hague, shares his memories of what it was like to be a child in the Holocaust and to survive the concentration camps, and discusses his experiences after being liberated from Sachsenhausen, his miraculous reunion with his mother after three years apart, and his emigration to the U.S. in 1951.

The author tells of the three years she endured as a slave laborer of the Nazis during World War II.

Explores the life of Anne Frank and other children affected by the Holocaust, including personal accounts, journal entries, interviews, and photographs.

The author examines the context of Anne Frank's diary, discussing Frank's narrative voice, characterizations, dialogue, and other stylistic qualities, along with evidence of revisions Frank made prior to her arrest that imply an intent to publish.

Presents an illustrated biography of Anne Frank; discussing her early childhood, Holocaust experiences, diary, and death.

The author recalls her experiences when she and her mother were hidden from the Nazis by a Gentile couple in Lwów, Poland, during World War II.

An anthology of twenty-three diaries written during the Holocaust by children, some of whom were later murdered by the Nazis.

Ten women from Jewish-Christian German families relate their experiences during the Third Reich, under which such individuals, though they considered themselves Christian, were persecuted under the Nuremberg Laws as "half-breeds."

Liberated from a German concentration camp at the end of World War II but haunted by the memory of her ordeal, fifteen-year-old Piri starts a strange new life as a Jew in Sweden.

A biography of a Czech girl who died in the Holocaust, told in alternating chapters with an account of how the curator of a Japanese Holocaust center learned about her life after Hana's suitcase was sent to her.

Presents a collection of memoirs by Jewish children hidden in the Le Chambon region of France during World War II. Includes photographs.

Explores the lives of children and teens who went into hiding during the Holocaust; looks at various places used as hiding spots, such as barns and attics, and different ways to hide, like assuming false identities, and how these were used as a tool to survive.

A photo-illustrated look at the youth organizations Adolf Hitler founded and used to meet his sociopolitical and military ends; includes profiles of individual Hitler Youth members as well as young people who opposed the Nazis, such as Hans and Sophie Scholl.

The author shares memories of her childhood in Germany, years of which were spent in a Nazi concentration camp, and includes several of her original poems.

A memoir of Elli Friedmann in which she tells about her experiences at Auschwitz concentration camp where she was taken at the age of thirteen in 1944 when the Nazis invaded her native Hungary.

In one of the most soul-stirring and inspiring memoirs of the Holocaust ever written, Isabella (Katz) Leitner describes the deportation of her family to Auschwitz and their year-long imprisonment in one of the cruelest death camps in Nazi Germany.

Contains interviews with twenty-five women who survived the Holocaust, grouped in three categories that focus on mother/child relationships, siblings, and women who engaged in organized, physical resistance.

The author, known as an illustrator of children's books, describes her experiences as a Polish Jew during World War II and for years in Sweden afterwards.

Teacher's guide.

Ruth Kluger chronicles the experiences she had while growing up in Vienna during the Nazi occupation and explains how the time she spent in concentration camps impacted her life.

A biography of Jack Mandelbaum, who survived Nazi concentration camps when he was a teenager.

Eva Mozes Kor details the experiences she shared with her twin sister Miriam when they were sent to Auschwitz as children and were forced to endure medical experiments and other horrors under the care of Josef Mengele.

Presents the true stories from nine Jewish boys and girls who survived the nightmare of the Nazi Holocaust in Europe.

After struggling to survive in Nazi-occupied Lithuania, a young Jewish girl and her mother endure much suffering in Kaiserwald, Stutthof, and Tauentzien concentration camps and on an eleven-day death march before being liberated by the Russian army.

An adolescent Jewish girl chronicles her experiences over the years she and several others hid from the Nazis in a secret apartment before being discovered and sent to concentration camps. Includes entries previously omitted.

Presents the journal of Helene Berr, who began keeping a journal of life in Nazi-occupied Paris from April 1942 until she and her family were arrested and taken to Auschwitz in 1944.

Describes six years in the life of a daring and resourceful Polish Jewish boy and his family, who survived the Holocaust by using false papers and posing as Catholics.

Edith Hahn tells how she survived the Holocaust, first by going underground, using a Christian friend's identity papers, and eventually marrying Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who knew she was Jewish.

Contains essays, documents, and discussion materials that provide insight into the politcal and social context in which Anne Frank's "The Diary of a Young Girl," was written.

Roma Ligocka chronicles her experiences during the Holocaust, reflecting on how her own life seemed to mirror that of a little girl in a red coat that was depicted in the film "Schindler's List".

Nine-year-old Piri describes the bewilderment of being a Jewish child during the 1939-1944 German occupation of her hometown (then in Hungary and now in the Ukraine) and relates the ordeal of trying to survive in the ghetto.

The author tells the story of her family's experiences as Jews in Hitler's Germany, tracing their horrifying journey from their home country to Holland and back again, living in refugee, transit, and prison camps, including Bergen-Belson.

A selection of children's poems and drawings reflecting their surroundings in Terezín Concentration Camp in Czechoslovakia from 1942 to 1944.

Presents an oral history of the destruction, murder, and chaos of November 9 and 10, 1938, when Nazis and members of Hitler's "Brownshirts" destroyed Jewish businesses and homes as well as schools and synagogues, and either arrested or murdered thousands of Jews across Germany.

Profiles over twenty novels, nonfiction books, films, and other creative works about the Holocaust, providing information on their authors, composers, or directors; their content; and their relationship to real events; and also includes an introduction, a time line, and a bibliography.

Chronicles the events surrounding the Holocaust, discussing how it affected every country in Europe, how it was rooted in events which date back to the Middle Ages, why it was allowed to go on for so long, and other related topics.

Explores the role the Einsatzgruppen, the professional killing squads deployed in Poland and the Soviet Union early in World War II, played in the Holocaust.

Examines three controversial issues in Holocaust scholarship, including the decision and policy-making in the Nazi regime that led to the attempt to totally eliminate the Jews; the use of Jewish labor; and the attitudes, motivations, and adaptations of ordinary Germans who carried out Nazi policy at the local level.

Tells the story of the Holocaust, tracing the origins of Nazi anti-Semitism; following the development of plans for the extermination of the Jews, with discussion of the ghettos, the final solution, deportations, the camps, resistance, rescuers, and other topics; and including responses to claims that the Holocaust never happened.

Presents the story of the Holocaust and shows how it affected the lives of innocent people throughout Europe, using artifacts, photographs, maps, and taped oral and video histories from the collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C.

Essays describe several aspects of the Holocaust, including its background, the ghettos, the concentration camps, the victims, resistance efforts, rescuers, the aftermath, and other topics; also includes a chronology, bibliography, and other reference resources.

Examines the events of the Holocaust within the context of World War II and Germany's economic and political history, while highlighting the main figures of the time.

Draws on artifacts and eyewitness testimony from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum to trace the history of the Holocaust and describe the experiences of the men, women, and children who lived through it.

An account of the Nazi destruction of six million Jews during World War II, with personal experiences of life in the ghettos and concentration camps recorded in letters, diaries, memoirs, poems, and songs.

Analyzes the persecution and murder of Jews throughout occupied Europe during World War II, examining German extermination policies and measures and their reliance on the cooperation of local authorities.

Traces the history of the Holocaust looking at the first boycott of Jewish businesses in 1933 to the Nuremberg Trials in 1946.

"Containing hundreds of photos, this collaborative effort by over half a dozen historians is an ambitious attempt to create a comprehensive account of the Shoah suitable for a wide audience." LJR

Photographs and personal accounts chronicle the experiences of men, women, and children who survived the Holocaust. Also includes interviews on an audio CD.

Photographs and personal accounts chronicle the experiences of men, women, and children who survived the Holocaust. Also includes interviews on an audio CD.

Henry Oertelt chronicles the experiences he had while being held in Nazi concentration camps during World War II.

Robert Melson describes how his Jewish family managed to survive the Holocaust by obtaining false papers and living in the open.

Contains personal narratives in which eight concentration camp survivors discuss their experiences in Germany under the Nazi regime during World War II.

An illustrated chronicle of the Holocaust that presents facts, personal accounts, maps, charts, and time lines and includes survivor testimonies on a DVD.

The author recounts his years lived under a fake Christian identity during the Nazi occupation of Hungary in the Second World War, including the efforts he put forth to protect his family as well as many other Jews.

Presents excerpts from the Holocaust diaries of fifteen young people, ranging in age from twelve to twenty-two, each with an introductory essay that looks at the writer, and the historical context of the diary, with a study of the text and its relevance in the context of Holocaust history or literature. Includes a list of over fifty additional known diaries written by young people during the period.

Describes the lives of the members of the Frank family before and after they were forced into hiding from the Nazis during World War II, and features a fictional diary that views events from the perspective of Anne's sister Margot.

The author, an Italian citizen of the Jewish race, provides an account of his ten months at Auschwitz, where he was sent in 1943 after being deported from his native Turin.

Chil Rajchman recounts his experiences as a young Jewish man in Treblinka, surviving by working at the camp, doing tasks such as cutting the hair of women before they were killed in the gas chambers and extracting gold teeth from dead bodies.

Contains three works of Holocaust literature, including "Night," an account of the author's experiences as a boy at Auschwitz; "Dawn," a short novel about a young Palestinian terrorist who spends the night waiting to execute a British prisoner; and "The Accident," the story of a Holocaust survivor who must choose whether to live or die after being hit by a car.

Personal narratives of Christians, Gypsies, deaf people, homosexuals, and blacks who suffered at the hands of the Nazis before and during World War II.

Pianist Wladyslaw Szpilman provides an account of his experiences trying to survive in the Warsaw ghetto during World War II, and shares excerpts from the diary of a German officer who saved his life.

Presents first-person accounts from twenty-seven witnesses to the Holocaust, including Jews, Gentiles, Americans, a member of the Hitler Youth, a Jesuit priest, resistance fighters, and child survivors.